SERP Hacker support forum - serposcope

Support forum for open-source softwares built by serphacker.com : serposcope the rank checker.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-01 15:45:24

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Hi

I have a VPS and root access but don't want to screw anything up so was wondering if you have a step by step guide to installing on a VPS as I'm pretty sure it'd run much faster there than on a local server.

Offline

#2 2016-06-01 15:51:31

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Hi,

Did you check the doc ? smile Here is a step by step guide to install on Ubuntu or Debian : https://serposcope.serphacker.com/en/do … nstall-deb

Offline

#3 2016-06-01 15:58:02

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Thanks, I did. My VPS runs another flavour though. I suppose it'd be a case of try it and see eh...?

Offline

#4 2016-06-01 16:00:22

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

no it probably won't work, install instructions won't works if it is not a debian or ubuntu VPS. If you took this VPS specially for serposcope, try to reinstall with ubuntu, it will be very easy to install.

Offline

#5 2016-06-02 06:07:36

Davide
Member
From: CH
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 78
Website

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

I have serposcope installed on a raspberrypi 3 ~80.- it runs linux (Raspian) https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/
It works pretty good and i have no errors or else.

i check over 700Keywords in 3h


easy-develope.ch ¦ kontakt@easy-develope.ch

Offline

#6 2016-06-02 07:04:43

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

I've just checked with my provider and they do have Debian and Ubuntu as OS options so I'd need to setup a new VPS account that's all.

I would have root access so installing isn't an issue but the question I guess is how it would then be accessed. For example, if I setup my VPS with the domain "MyDomain.com" I assume that I would have to set the install directory prior to installing by navigating their through console or would it be installed automatically.

Forgive my ignorance, I'm kind of new to Linux installs.

Offline

#7 2016-06-02 08:09:53

Davide
Member
From: CH
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 78
Website

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

the installation location should not be a problem. you can install it directly in the system. or you can use the jar file of serposcope and locate it in the home path and run it by command. you will got a port number on your vpn ip.
lke this:
vpn ip is: 199.23.55.166
port for serposcope is this : 5566

you can call just the ip: 199.23.55.166:5566
if you have a domain it should work if you edite the dns settings: change the A records to the ip with port.

but not 100% shure if this work.


easy-develope.ch ¦ kontakt@easy-develope.ch

Offline

#8 2016-06-02 08:16:00

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

@WhatNoWebsite you don't have to worry about directories. Just follow debian/ubuntu install instructions and serposcope will be available at your VPS ip on the port 7134 :

http://vps-ip:7134/

Don't use the jar, use the .deb package (ubuntu/debian package).

After you can point a domain name if you want so it will be available at : http://example.com:7134/ but it is not required.

If you want it to be available on port 80 so it can be accessed at http://example.com (without the port part) you need to setup a web server (nginx/apache) and use it as a reverse proxy. However I think it will be a bit to complicated for you if you are a beginner. Let's see if you manage to do a basic setup first.

Offline

#9 2016-06-02 08:19:56

Davide
Member
From: CH
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 78
Website

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

serphacker wrote:

@WhatNoWebsite you don't have to worry about directories. Just follow debian/ubuntu install instructions and serposcope will be available at your VPS ip on the port 7134 :

http://vps-ip:7134/

Don't use the jar, use the .deb package (ubuntu/debian package).

After you can point a domain name if you want so it will be available at : http://example.com:7134/ but it is not required.

If you want it to be available on port 80 so it can be accessed at http://example.com (without the port part) you need to setup a web server (nginx/apache) and use it as a reverse proxy. However I think it will be a bit to complicated for you if you are a beginner. Let's see if you manage to do a basic setup first.


why not the jar ? on my raspian it wont work using the deb package. so i used the jar file are there any different? (just for my info) he should better follow your solution (Y) my was just an idea.


easy-develope.ch ¦ kontakt@easy-develope.ch

Offline

#10 2016-06-02 08:22:31

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Thanks very much guys.

I only have a few domains and keywords loaded at the moment as I am testing and it's taking in excess of two hours to run (connection speed here sux) so I'm going to create a new VPS and play around, see if I get faster results and I'll get back to you guys.

Offline

#11 2016-06-02 08:22:38

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Davide wrote:

why not the jar ? on my raspian it wont work using the deb package. so i used the jar file are there any different? (just for my info) he should better follow your solution (Y) my was just an idea.

Yes I was talking to @WhatNoWebsite smile It is ok to use jar setup when you know what you are doing or have specific requirement. .deb package is a lot easier (when it works tongue)

Offline

#12 2016-06-02 08:26:54

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

@WhatNoWebsite If serposcope is slow it may not be related to your hardware connexion speed, see the following part of the FAQ :

Serposcope is slow, how to make it faster ?

Reduce/disable the pause between each request to Google in google network options.
Use a bigger results per page and a smaller number of pages in google scrap options (it may slightly alter the rankings).
Adding more ips/proxies on proxy settings.
Specify maximum threads in google scrap options to enable multithreading
Notes about multithreading : serposcope doesn't use the same proxy in multiple thread, so number of threads is capped by number of proxy you provide.

Offline

#13 2016-06-02 08:33:29

Davide
Member
From: CH
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 78
Website

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

serphacker wrote:
Davide wrote:

why not the jar ? on my raspian it wont work using the deb package. so i used the jar file are there any different? (just for my info) he should better follow your solution (Y) my was just an idea.

Yes I was talking to @WhatNoWebsite smile It is ok to use jar setup when you know what you are doing or have specific requirement. .deb package is a lot easier (when it works tongue)

Ahh ok.. Perfect. smile

just one question is there a problem if i connect my google drve with the folder of serposcope (to backup db and settings) or should i use a shell script to transform dayliy the files to an ftp?


easy-develope.ch ¦ kontakt@easy-develope.ch

Offline

#14 2016-06-05 19:53:40

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Thanks guys. Looking forward to testing on a VPS but having issues with crawling errors and can't setup proxies correctly.

Just wondered if anyone can help...?

https://forum.serphacker.com/viewtopic.php?id=158

Offline

#15 2016-06-30 21:11:08

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

OK. Almost there I think.

Just one final question (I hope)...

Can I install SERPOSCOPE on a sub domain without it being available through the port number on another domain...?

Example:
Serps.domain.com:7134

So it could also be installed on serps2.domain.com:7134

Possible...?

Offline

#16 2016-07-01 12:32:51

serphacker
Administrator
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 411

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

yes you can but it may be a bit complicated. First, you have to adjust serposcope.conf to only listen on 127.0.0.1 so it won't be available on serps.domain.com:7134 (check FAQ). Then you have to configure your web server (nginx or apache) to act has a reverse proxy and forward everything going to hxxp://serps2.example.com/ to serposcope.

Offline

#17 2016-07-07 21:36:24

WhatNoWebsite
Member
Registered: 2016-06-01
Posts: 21

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

OK. I don't quite follow that.

Do you have a link to a guide perhaps...?

Offline

#18 2016-09-25 05:24:41

rex88
Member
Registered: 2016-09-23
Posts: 9

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

WhatNoWebsite wrote:

OK. Almost there I think.

Just one final question (I hope)...

Can I install SERPOSCOPE on a sub domain without it being available through the port number on another domain...?

Example:
Serps.domain.com:7134

So it could also be installed on serps2.domain.com:7134

Possible...?


If you hadn't already figured this out. I made this video on it.

http://youtu.be/9Dagb5IF5dQ

You would just have to setup the server block sub-domain name and point DNS to it. Unless if you just use ur IP. Also using a web server allows you to use SSL and NGINX basic auth for extra security.

Last edited by rex88 (2016-09-25 05:26:32)

Offline

#19 2018-08-06 06:29:10

5unnykum4r
Member
Registered: 2018-08-06
Posts: 1

Re: Installing SERPOSCOPE on a VPS

Hey,
Recently I had shared the same topic on my website.
Here you can find how you can install serposcope on your VPS:
Just follow the link below
https://theguidex.com/track-your-keyword-rankings-free/

Let Me Know If You Still Face any Issues Installing SerpoScope.

Offline

Board footer